Good Friday 5/7/10

7 05 2010

Every Friday I write a post about the good things from the previous week in an effort to focus on the positive things in my life. You can see all my Good Friday posts here.

Oh. My. Gooses! I can’t believe it’s already May! Where did the spring go? Here in Texas we are officially into summer. The high yesterday was 93, I think.

Field Trip

My department at work is mostly field staff, it’s just me and my department head in the home office. Every now and then we all get together, usually everyone comes into town and we have meetings during the working hours and go out to dinner and sometimes go do something together after work. This time my boss decided that we didn’t need all the meetings, just the get-together! We all met up in Salado; the guys went golfing and the girls went shopping then we all met up for dinner. I had a good time, got a free meal, and got to get paid to go shopping :-)

Date Night

Date Night this week was kind of an epic adventure. We went out to Cabella’s to get The Hubby some gear for his mens retreat next week. Cabella’s is in Buda, if you’re not familiar with Central Texas, Pflugerville, where I live, is on the far north side of Austin, and Buda is on the far south side. It was about an hour drive down there. We looked around for quite a while, if you’ve never been to a Cabella’s it’s kind of cool just how much stuff they have. We then headed back home and watched The Proposal. I had already seen it and The Hubby was skeptical about watching a chick flick but by the end he admitted that it’s a very funny movie.

Baking

I’ve been baking something every Wednesday for Date Night and I’ve now decided to make it a regular thing. This week was Chocolate pomegranate Cake. I don’t have any pictures, but here’s the recipe (from BakingBites.com again). The cake is good, but it needs a little… something. It’s a bit dry by itself. The recipe calls for dusting with powdered sugar or cocoa powder, but that just doesn’t cut it. I served it with ice cream last night and that worked well. I think tonight I’ll try a simple glaze and see if I like that better. Maybe I just need to serve it with coffee?

Anywhoo, she’s absolutely correct, once you bake the cake you can’t really taste the pomegranate juice, it’s just got a hint of fruityness. If you didn’t know what was in it, I don’t think you could tell it was pomegranate juice.

Quilting Night

My girlfriend and I had another quilting night. Alas, the project I started last week (week before? not sure) has come to a halt. I got all the blocks finished and was starting to put it all together and realized that I’m missing block 7. DOH! I’m lucky I realized this right now, because Joann’s has just rolled over their Block of the Month projects. I actually can’t get block 7 anymore, but I’ve ordered a duplicate of one of the other blocks to fill the hole.

Since that project is at a standstill, I started the other BOM project that I bought at the same time. It’s up on the Crafts in Progress page now too. These BOM projects go together so very quickly I’m hoping to just knock these two out real soon and then we’ll have some homemade quilts around the house!

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 05 2010
Katie

Again, I can confirm the yummy cake! I agree that it was missing… something but I think the ice cream did the trick. I hope the glaze works out well! I love the quilts that you are working on and can’t wait to see them finished… you’re so fast! =)

12 05 2010
Merella

I know this is very off topic but I’m sure you would like to keep people safe from malware and the like. It seems that there might be an issue with BakingBites.com because sometimes (for 2 out of 2 different pages it occured the first time I tried to load/visit) when a page goes to load instead of it coming up I got a popup warning me about viruses and when I clicked ‘OK’ it reloaded the BakingBites.com window to an obviously fake ‘virus scan’ webpage.

Just wasn’t sure how else to notify you so I figured a comment would be a good way to do it.

13 05 2010
Lauren

Off topic is totally fine! I do have problems loading Baking Bites every now and then, but I’ve never had a pop-up or anything like you described. Thanks for letting me know, I’ll look into it.

For future reference, and for anyone else who’s curious, you are always welcome to leave comments, but my email address is there on the side bar and also on the About Me page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

